Read about our grants

Read more


Learn about our projects

Read more


Have a look at our work

Read more

Past Projects

Get to know what we have done

Read more

Tayyaba Hasan, Ph.D.

Dr. Tayyaba Hasan is a Professor of Dermatology at the Wellman Center for Photomedicine, Harvard Medical School (HMS) and a Professor of Health Sciences and Technology (Harvard-MIT)....

Current Lab Members

Dr. Tayyaba Hasan's lab team is a mix of biologists, chemists, physicists, engineers, managers, etc....

Former Lab Members

Dr. Hasan has mentored and trained more than 250 diverse students and postdoctoral fellows....

July 6, 2023

Jose shines at NERM!

José Quilez Alburquerque, PhD, who has joined out lab for a second time this past October, had a great presentation at the American Chemistry Society’s

June 28, 2023

Saad Promoted to Instructor!

Mohammad Ahsan Saad, PhD , who has been a part of the Hasan Lab since 2018, was recently promoted to the rank of Instructor, reflecting

June 10, 2023

Hasan Lab Alumni making headway in Academia

Congratulations to Drs Huang and Spring on their Associate Professorships!

May 11, 2023

Our interns are getting noticed

Please help me to congratulate our 2022 HST-Wellman Summer Institute student, Noorullah Imran, on winning BEST POSTER at the recent Stanford Research Conference 2023 utilizing

May 10, 2023

Our Posters are winners!

Congratulations to Shazia Bano, PhD on receiving the MGH ‘s SAC 2023 Poster of Distinction Award on your abstract: Remediating Desmoplasia with EGFR-Targeted Photoactivable Multi-Inhibitor

April 11, 2023

Dr Hasan receives 5th (yes fifth) Lifetime Achievement Award!

Congratulations to Professor Tayyaba Hasan who was recognized with The Gold Medal Award by the International Photodynamic Association (IPA) , given for significant mentoring and

April 6, 2022

Alumni Joseph WR Swain bags the NSF GRFP 2022 Award

We are proud to share that our alumni Joseph WR Swain who worked as a Research Technician in Hasan lab for 2 years, now at

September 3, 2021

Dr. Hasan receives 2021 ESP Award for Excellence in Photobiological Research

Dr. Hasan was honored with 2021 ESP AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PHOTOBIOLOGICAL RESEARCH during the General Assembly of the European Society for Photobiology (ESP) on

July 12, 2021

Mallika Priya receives MGH’s prestigious “Pillars of Excellence Award” for the year 2020.

CONGRATULATIONS to our team member Mallika Priya, PhD., for being awarded with “2020 Pillars of Excellence Award – for Integrating Diversity, Equity & Inclusion and

July 12, 2021

Dr. Hasan receives Lifetime Achievement Award Presentation at ICPP-11

Dr. Tayyaba Hasan, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines on 7/1/21 during the International Conferences on Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines